Every Time Brave Updates, Profile Data Gets Lost


Description of the issue:
How can this issue be reproduced?

  1. This occurs every time Brave Browser updates. Keeps happening since about 6 months ago.

  2. The following error message pops up when starting the browser/computer.

  3. In-browser pop-up message says ‘Extensions’ and ‘Pinned tabs’ were reset, but these were not entirely reset.

  4. Instead, account passwords, previous logins, and payment methods are all gone. Everything is logged out and reset. There was nothing “changed from outside of Brave” except the Brave Update itself.

Expected result: All profile settings expected to be preserved and carried over from the previous version when brave browser updates.

Brave Version( check About Brave): v 1.94.117

Additional Information: This is getting too inconvenient. Thankfully, I have a sync profile from another device (I am refusing to update this one) to retrieve some of the passwords, but please resolve this as soon as possible. It happens every single time the browser updates. I thought it would’ve been resolved by now, but looks like this is being overlooked. Please let me know if you need any other details. Thanks.

@c4689

See:

‘My Browser Reset AGAIN! I Lost Everything! - #2 by clifton’

‘Passwords disappeared, no traces left - #2 by 289wk’