Bug]1.82.1 clearing browsing data now closes open tabs like if it were shredding site data, when it didn’t used to back then, should keep tabs open

Troubleshooting technical issues is much easier when both the user and support agent practice clear communication. For this reason, we have provided the template below for you to fill out with information about your issue. Please provide as much detail as possible so we can most efficiently resolve your problem.


Description of the issue:

How can this issue be reproduced?

  1. Get on on any website, clear data.

  2. Clearing Data, now acts like shredding site Data, when back then it would just clear data without closing tab

Expected result: TABS CLOSE.. when they didn’t back then.. they shouldn’t.. close, it should keep tabs open.. like it used to, yet clear data

Brave Version( check About Brave): 1.82.1 (174)

Mobile Device details on iPhone and iPad

Additional Information:

I’d also suggest updating your Brave app (it’s now 1.83 | 118) and to be safe, restarting your phone, if you haven’t yet.

(Also just a user)

it say I cannot upload attachments

There is sometimes a bit of a waiting period for new users to be able to upload things.

May I ask, have you updated Brave yet?

yes, same thing.. happens

I use brave on my iPad

OK, also, just as a note, I just briefly looked at your Profile Summary, I’d encourage you to NOT create ANOTHER post about this. All you have to do is post in this thread to bump the message every 25-30 days for it to remain active.

With that said, I do see that you previously spoke with @Mattches and his response was here: [bug]clearing brave data while on any website, kills open tabs - #2 by Mattches which led to: https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/issues/47576
Which shows the guys who worked on it, marked it as resolved/closed, so since you are still having troubles with it, I am tagging @Mattches to investigate it further with you, again.
Actually, I guess it’s slightly different but I would say still closely related.

look I should still be on brave community after I clear data, not a new tab..

So I’m seeing and thinking of 3 things…

1.You are using Private Browsing, so you don’t need to clear data (unless that was just to hide your active tabs for the video).

2.Also you can just use Auto Shred: Site Tabs Closed or App Close.

3.I don’t often clear my “Browsing History” so I’m not sure if this makes a difference but if you uncheck the toggle for wiping out “Browsing History” option, does it still wipe out your current tabs?

thing so with private browsing on, there’s no need to clear data?

Clear Data Now removes anything saved (that you select) when you manually wipe stuff.

Private Browsing, doesn’t save anything beyond your current session.
So if you use Private Browsing you won’t see anything saved in “Manage Website Data” when you open Brave fresh after closing it, OTHER than what might be added from opening it new.
Choosing “Private Browsing Only” further down in Brave Shields & Privacy might help too.

Though since we’re talking about Private Browsing and not wanting to leave a trace, I might encourage you to read this blog article as well as some other articles from that blog (links below) the first one I recommend reading for sure, second one maybe as well, and then just others on the site are good too:

Private Browsing is really only helpful for hiding things from people who have access to your device:

There’s a lot of other helpful tips about Privacy & Security from DuckDuckGo’s Blog, as seen here:

For devices as well:

and just the overall: