Description of the issue:
Alright, so I’m interested in possibly purchasing Brave Origin, but I have a couple things I’d like to clarify first.
I’ve been using the regular version of Brave for quite awhile now and have setup multiple Profiles for different things I use around the web,
e.g. A Main Profile and then other Profiles/New Windows for Finances, Shopping, Gaming, etc.
In my Main Profile, I use all the bells and whistles, Brave Ads, Wallet, etc.
BUT I do NOT use the bells and whistles on the other (Finances, Shopping, Gaming, etc.) Profiles.
How can I use Brave Origin with what I’ve got setup?
Obviously, I want to use all of Brave with one Profile.
AND THEN, I want to use Brave Origin for all the others.
How would I go about doing so if you are understanding my meaning?
Do I need to setup all of the profiles again in Brave Origin or how, again, would I go about doing this if I were to?
Thanks for the clarification and I’m sorry I haven’t been able to find an answer elsewhere.
Origin Build type (standalone or upgraded): N/A as of yet
Operating System and Brave Version(See the About Brave page in the main menu):
Origin was made with this in mind. With the exception of a couple of features, each component is profile specific. So in the image below, I have two different profiles open and each holds its own set of values for each feature:
So for you to achieve this, simply upgrade your current browser to Origin, then go into each profile and enable/disable the features you want in each one.
So turning the features off just disables/removes the features from the menu, it doesn’t clear the code or anything from the browser, correct?
Essentially it’s just a cosmetic change and makes turning things off easier than manually going into each individual profile and setting(s) menu?
To go with that, if someone accidentally turns something off in the Brave Origin menu, it doesn’t wipe out those settings and information or anything does it?
e.g. Say I clicked off the Wallet or Brave Rewards/Ads* menu option by accident, it’s just hidden and still keeps previous information, because once I click it again and turned it back on, everything gets restored?
Or is there a warning before clicking the off button on features?
Also, I’m not seeing Brave Rewards/Ads* in the Origin menu in your screenshots? I guess that’s still seperate? or just out of frame? or just one of the exceptions of a couple of features? (beyond the note I see underneath a couple options saying “Affects all browser profiles”)
I also see “Privacy Settings Tuning Tool”, is that just “Shields” &/or “Privacy and security” settings? – Really not sure why someone would use Brave without those haha. (somewhat less serious question but thought I’d ask, not sure if I’m missing something there haha)
Considering Fingerprinting, how much does using Brave Origin vs. Regular/Free Brave change things, are they still seen essentially the same? (I mean I’d continue to keep “Block Fingerprinting” on anyway but just thought I’d ask if I turned that off for instance).
Sorry, I tend to overcomplicate things sometimes, I just want to be clear on what it does and doesn’t do and looking at https://brave.com/origin/ isn’t as thorough as I would like (before putting money down) (and I did try searching the forum as well).
Thanks again for your patience and explanations!
Disabling the feature removes the component entirely. There’s two types of browser preferences in this context – Local state, which is “browser-wide” and Profile Prefs which are per-profile. Group/admin policies can be either of them and Origin operates by managing these policies. So some of them are mapped to the Local state pref and others are per-profile. Anything that is “browser-wide” is denoted on the Brave Origin settings page (“Affects all browser profiles”).
As for Rewards/Wallet I believe the component data remains and in either case, as long as you have your recovery phrase (for Wallet) or have your Rewards profile verified, you will always be able to use the phrase/login (respectively) and avoid losing any data.
It’s just out of frame – it’s actually the very first thing on the list:
This is a feature that we’re working on releasing soon – you just see the UI setting in the Origin menu implemented ahead of time. We’ll have more information on this feature soon.
No difference between the two – Shields function the same way in both builds.