Description of the issue:
I went to a site with frequent unwanted autoplay videos, but in this case, I was actually interested in watching a video.
I want to opt into Autoplay for one time only. This was easy to do in the old Brave (Muon). However, it’s a regression, because now there is no way to do this.
Steps to Reproduce (add as many as necessary): 1. 2. 3.
-
Hit the “Play button with an X in it” icon, at far right of address bar.
-
Your only two choices are Allow or Block. Hit Allow.
-
There’s no way to just allow it for one time only, without forcing the user to make a permanent binding decision that will be used for all times in the future.
Actual Result (gifs and screenshots are welcome!):
The page refreshes, and the video plays. However, it will do this for all future site visits, which is unwanted.
Expected result:
The video should have played once, but not Autoplay. This applies to all future page visits, and also to many sites that self-refresh themselves when the video is over (to play another video in sequence, indefinitely, which might not be wanted).
Reproduces how often:
100% reproducible.
Brave Version(about:brave):
The about:brave feature is buggy now:
This site can’t be reached
The webpage at chrome://brave/ might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
ERR_INVALID_URL
Reproducible on current live release (yes/no):
100% reproducible
Additional Information:
Because this feature was easy to do in old Brave (Muon), this is a regression in usability.
There needs to be a one-time-only option, so that the Allow or Block choice is not deemed to be permanent. It would be nice to separate the Allow/Block decision with a checkbox “Always” that would make it a one-time-only selection if unchecked.
The workaround is to manually remove the URL from the list of allowed Autoplay sites, after watching the desired video, which is somewhat tedious:
-
Hamburger menu (upper right of browser), then Settings (at bottom).
-
Advanced (at far bottom).
-
Content settings (under “Privacy And Security”).
-
Click the arrow to the right of “Autoplay”.
-
By URL in the list, select the nearby hamburger menu, then Delete.
-
Set the “Ask when a site wants to autoplay” switch at top, if it has become cleared.
-
Back all the way out of the menus, or just close the browser tab.
So, it turns what was a single click, into a pretty deep digging through the menu, to undo an unwanted permanent selection of Autoplay preference.
Josh
