Shred feature was introduced also in Android (needs to be enabled in flags) and I was wondering if there is any difference between this feature and manually deleting cookies and data via the address bar.
To manually delete website data in most chromium browsers, including brave, it’s pretty straightforward:
Tap the icon next to the website address / cookies and site data / trash bin.
Technically no, they both do the same thing. The idea here is to allow users more control over site data/settings/protections through Shields directly, rather than relying on the built-in Chromium mechanisms.
The shred is part of Shields, is site-specific and can be set to Auto-shred so that you can simply close the tab and ensure that any site data accumulated will be cleared out hassle free.
I’d say Shred is more thorough, but otherwise essentially the same.
Forget me when I close this site traditionally only deleted cookies and nothing else.
Shred deleted cookies, history, and pretty much any evidence you ever visited the website from your device/profile.
In recent updates, they provided a toggle to Shred where we can decide if it removes the history option as well. If you aren’t erasing history, it’s practically the same exact thing.
That’s at least speaking for how it has been on iOS. I’m not sure if integration on Android is any different.
Using the beta version I can click on shields and set a site to auto shred but on the stable version I don’t see that option. I don’t see anywhere to erase history with shred. And it doesn’t keep your choice to Auto shred a site that I can see. When I go back to that same site the auto shred is reset to don’t auto shred.I’m using the android version. Unless I’m just misunderstanding how to use it.
Yeah so upon further inspection it looks like Forget me when I close this site is just being replaced with Shred/Auto-shred.
Feature is available in Nightly only at this time.
As this feature is newly integrated into Android it will take a few release cycles to get everything fully up and running.
There is a short 30s delay gap before data is fully cleared out. This ensure that you have a chance to rectify any mistakes by returning to the site before all its data is deleted.
This comment and link to a tool to help is extremely related to this topic. This comment was moderated. I am trying again. This time without a link.
If you would like a way to be sure that you are deleting data then the tool mentioned (not linked) below may help.
If you seeking brute force approach check out the brave command line wrapper script for LINUX and macOS called (SPB - Start Private Browser) : just search for this tool using a search engine - you may need to add GitHub to help the search engine : Kindly note that SPB is not currently performing secure remove (which I guess shred may be doing?)
Maybe someone from the Brave team could comment on the details? Of the backend data removal from disk?