Hi,
First visit to icloud.com lands on a spinning wheel. Allowing all cookies for the site will fix this and land on a login page.
However, I discovered that if I later flip the cookies setting under shields back to 3rd-party cookies blocked that it breaks the site and I’m stuck with the following cookies need to be enabled no matter if I reenable them or turn shields off (a little fuzzy on the steps, but I may have also turned shields off and on after that):
I have tried Site settings > Clear data doesn’t help and no matter what I try, I seem to be stuck on the iCloud requires cookies page, even if I bring the shields down. I also tried clearing all browser data, but no go.
I have had to uninstall and reinstall Brave to get around this, but I fear that this symptom will reoccur on other sites as well.
It would be great is this didn’t happen, but in the event it does, is there a way that I can truly reset the site to get back in? The workaround is to use a Guest Window. Even a Private Window is hosed when trying to reach icloud.com after the above happens.
Thanks,
Bill
@bscully,
Thanks for reaching out and for the thorough report.
Definitely seems like a caching issue – in which case yes, there’s a way to reset this. Next time this happens, here’s what I would recommend doing:
- Visit [site] and click the “lock” icon on the left side of the address bar
- Click
Site Settings
- Click
Reset Permissions
- Click
Clear Site Data
- Click the back arrow on the top-left, you should now be on the
All sites page.
- Use the search box and run a search for
[site] – just in case there’s anything lingering and remove this data as well when/if found.
- Relaunch Brave, visit/authenticate into [site].
If this does not work, you may want to try clearing all your browsing data.
You can clear any/all your data by going to Menu --> History --> Clear Browsing Data – ensure that the Cookies and Site Data box is checked.
Let me know if any of the above is unclear.
Thanks for your reply, but as I mentioned above (sorry if I wasn’t clear) I tried that and it didn’t work. However, I did your step 4 before 3 (3 isn’t an option after 4 as the site is gone). Maybe that’s the difference.
The way that I got it to work was to clear everything on Exit, but had the joy of resetting my prefs. for certain sites.
I will keep your steps in mind and in this order.
Thanks