Delete browsing data on exit isn't working

NOTE: Any “one-liner” or topics requesting support or reporting bugs that do not make an effort to include as much of this information as possible will not be responded to. Repeatedly posting as such is grounds for banning._
Please** try to adhere to this template when reporting bugs. If you think you don’t need to fill out every section in the template fill out as much of it as you can and please be as descriptive as possible when posting.
<---------Delete this line and everything above before posting---------->**

Description of the issue:

Under “Privacy and security”, “Delete data on exit”, I have selected “Browsing history”, “Cached images and files”, “Leo AI”, and “Download history”. When I exit all running instances, I load Brave and I find browsing history, cache, and download history are not cleared. I don’t use the Leo AI so I don’t know if that is affected.

Steps to Reproduce (add as many as necessary):

1. Close all browser instances.

2. Open browser and check cache, browsing and download history and find everything to be intact.

3. I have to manually “Delete browsing data” to actually clear these items.

Actual Result (gifs and screenshots are welcome!):

Expected result: should clear all requested items every time I close the browser.

Reproduces how often: I’ve noticed the issue on every use of Brave on my main system

Operating System and Brave Version(See the About Brave page in the main menu): Windows 10 Pro 22H2, Brave v1.89.143

Additional Information:

on my Samsung S25+ Brave browser app clears data automatically on exit, appears to function correctly.

I do have the following options enabled, in case they are causing the issue:

“Continue running background apps when Brave is closed”

“Volunteer to help others connect to the Tor network” - Snowflake extension is enabled with the “Keep running when the browser is closed”

I will test turning off the above options and report back.

UPDATE:

When I turn off the “Keep running when the browser is closed” option for the Snowflake extension the delete browsing data on exit option works as expected.

Leaving this extension running in the background should not interfere with the delete browsing data on exit option, this one process stops this critical security feature from operating as it should in all instances. Maybe this is something that can be corrected in a future build?

Thanks!

It works fine for me. I just tested it by turning in the check boxes, opening a bunch of tabs, and exiting, and then looking at my history. The history was empty.

Can you create a new Brave Profile: Menu>More tools> Add New Profile?

Add your clear browser data settings, exit the browser, and then open it up with history.
Also, perhaps the “Continue where you left off” setting could cause conflict:

@frisson77 Hello,

Have you found a solution to your problem yet?

As stated at the end of my post under UPDATE, I did figure out the issue, however I believe this needs to be addressed in a future browser update.

I actually can’t reproduce this issue. With Snowflake enabled and running in the background “on”, data still gets deleted on exit as expected:

Do you have any other extensions installed in the browser at this time?

I do have other extensions, but after turning off the option in Snowflake to keep it running when the browser is closed this corrected the deletion of browsing data on every exit; I no longer have the issue. If I turn the option back on in Snowflake it prevents the deletion of browsing data on exit.

Right, but it may be the combination of the different extensions you have installed or something else that is conflicting causing the issue because I can’t get this to occur on any OS – tested with macOS, Linux (Ubunut), Windows 11, and Android.

Can you try creating a new browser profile to test with (Menu > More tools > Add profile), then close your original profile window and then try to reproduce the issue in the new profile? I’d like to see if this still happens when everything is fresh.