As the name suggests, a No History tab or window would not store any URLs history (<> buttons inactive). But, would keep every thing else like regular open tabs: searches, cookies, etc. The main reasons for this new feature would be to prevent having to reenter sign-in credentials and having the tabs restored on an app update or device reboot
The most obvious reason I would like a No History tab is for Youtube. The site already keeps track of your watch history (video URLs). So, there’s no need to duplicate and store it locally
The difference with Private tab is that everything would be kept except URLs history
Imo, it would be easy to implement this new feature
@flic yeah this seems like something that can be achieved using the options/settings/tools already available to you. If you want to delete browsing history (only) for a site, you can just go in to Menu > History, search the site and delete the entries.
Additionally, you used YouTube as an example, stating:
Yes, the site keeps track of your watch history, but that’s not all that is contained in browsing history. For example, you can visit several pages/channels on Youtube without ever watching a video – this information is not recorded on the site, but is recorded in your browsing history which you may want to use to find or return to something.
In fact, because Youtube keeps track of your watchlist on their end, it actually makes far more sense for you to use Private tabs for youtube. You open a Private tab, sign into Youtube and use it normally. Now, your watch history will still be recorded since you’ve signed in, but none of this will show in your browser history. When you’re done, just close your private tab and you’re good to go.
@289wk
Thanks for your suggestions. But, that deletes history on exit only
@Mattches
I currently use Private tab(s) for Youtube and that is the problem: losing every tabs open and cookies, etc.
The way I see it: I open a No History tab then go to Youtube and signin. I can browse, search or what ever but cannot go back or forth (<> are inactive cuz of no history is stored)
Then after a Brave update or device reboot and Restore tabs in Brave, the Youtube No History tab is already logged in (unlike Private tab)
Maybe only a new Brave option could do the trick like Exclude History for (list of) sites…