My Browser Reset AGAIN! I Lost Everything!

The problem is related to caching. If I delete a Brave profile folder in Snap, and copy a folder from somewhere else, it will display as if I didn’t delete it. It is caching somewhere else now which caused an issue before with losing my data. Fortunately, I had my work folder on another drive and I had to boot into that drive to access my data, not on my main drive, because if I just copied the folder to my main drive, everything will be reset or it will show the same as whatever profile I was using before.

I have one for work, and that I don’t connect my personal stuff to and one for personal. If I want to switch from one to another. I just rename Brave.work and rename Brave.me or .personal or whatever I name it and it opens and shows the profiles for that one like it’s supposed to. I did it for Firefox and when I switched to Brave, ti worked flawlessly until the recent updates.

I want to sue. If my other folder on the other drive was lost, I definitely would sue.

Why are the developers so hell bent on destroying the browser? It’s almost like that they just hired people from the street. Here, make me a basic HTML page. Good, you’re hired.

Why not make another backup?
It doesn’t matter, because when you switch profiles by renaming them, they won’t show up correctly. When I clicked on it, it showed one with no profiles in it with a google search that I made recently when it reset. If I delete that and copy another one from backup, it will show the same thing.

Hi - thanks for opening a ticket about your experience. I want to make it clear that you are under no obligation to use Brave. I’m not sure what you hope to accomplish by mentioning legal action when you made the choice to install the browser and use it.

Chromium browsers will store the currently opened windows and tabs using the sessions API. This gets stored into your profile directory in a folder called Sessions. There are situations where this can get corrupted. We have an issue tracking this on GitHub and have been trying to collect information to find reproducible ways to cause a bug to happen. Without a way to reproduce, we don’t have a way to find the bug. Any attempts made to fix would just be guesswork. You can find our tracking issue here:

I helped introduce a workspace feature recently that gives folks a way to save all your open windows and tabs to help address this specific issue. I personally have not ran into this and unfortunately, I haven’t found a single report that has steps which can reproduce the issue. This issue isn’t specific to Brave, it happens in Chromium.

If you’re using Ubuntu snaps, you could change things up and try the installation approach at https://brave.com/linux/. There are some known issues with Snaps versus not using snaps. None of those known issues have to do with losing session.

I’m not sure what you mean about renaming. It sounds like you’re introducing undefined behavior into the application by changing files inside the profile directory manually. I would highly advise NOT to do this. But maybe I am misunderstanding. What exactly are Brave.work and Brave.me. Are you describing the name of a profile in the UI? Or are you actually going into the the profile directory and renaming a folder? There are file indexes inside the profile that are counting on the names of profiles and files matching. Renaming folders manually can introduce the corruption you have found. I hope you can understand why advise against touching these files manually.

Please let me know. Thanks

Not support but this post is incomprehensible. Why would you be renaming/deleting/whatever profiles? Create both and use Brave sync and switch the way you’re supposed to: via the profile switcher.

Brave Browser Profile Picker: ‘brave://profile-picker’

And: ‘Where Brave Browser Profiles Are Located

The same thing happened to me and many others back in 2024 and eventually Brave fixed it.
Attached is the screenshot.
Yesterday the same thing as in 2024 happened and all my passwords are gone. I hope they fix this again very soon.

I have two Brave folders. One contains personal profiles, another contains work profiles. Two folders or files can’t coexist in the same directory at the same time, so normally if you wanted to save one but use another, you’d rename the old one to adding .old at the end of the file or doler name, but I would be switching from them a couple of times a day, if I rename one to .old, I would have to rename the one I was currentlyly using to something else until I change the one I’m switching to, to remove the .old to the end of the folder name.

To make it easier, when switching from work (prsonal profiles can’t be in work, policy reasons). I would just rename work as Brave.work, I hope that makes sense. This is what I’ve doen for years whenever I had to use two different copies of something, such as Thunderbird, Firefox, or Brave.

There was a complete overhaul in the update weeks ago, becuase Brave shows up twice, when I search for it on Linux, which is what we use. One icon opens up the profile like normal, the other, an entire blank profile as if you just installed it. At least I can still access it, but it’s annoying.

If I close the browser and switch to work or personal by renaming the folders like normal, like how I always did it, instead of showing the profiles of from the desired Brave profile folder, it opens up a completely blank one with no profiles, as if I just installed it.

Also, when I search for Brave, the two icons used to just say Brave Browser or something like that, one says ‘Brave Web Browser’ and the other says ‘Settings - Brave’. The settings ones opens up a completely blank/new profile as if I just installed it. A least now I know which one to click on, but the problem is if I make a search in the blank profile, and I switch profiles by renaming the folders, whatever I click on will only show the result of the blank profile, like if I make a Google search in it previously, that will still show up. I apologise if I overexplained, I not good at communication and I just want to be clear as often when I explain things, it creates confusion.

Someone recommended I create a another folder to add my profile data into because I have an issue where Brave crashes the desktop UI on Ubuntu, but if your profiles are getting nuked, then I’m scared to try it. They’re basically asking me to create a profile on another computer, add add the sync between the two computers, and and then copy the folder and paste it onto my computer that is having the issue.

Make a 2nd backup and put it in another directory, like on another drive, that way you can’t accidentally move it and lose everything, that is what saved my work.